WhatsApp user? Know the tools and features to stay safe
Lots of application including camera applications, chatting applications, etc. have been introduced. Along with the increase in number of applications, safety and security concerns have also increased among the people.
WhatsApp is the most commonly used application by the people for chatting, spreading information, sharing images, videos, etc. Therefore here are the tools and features of WhatsApp which will help you in staying safe.
1. Privacy settings
Adjust your privacy settings to control who sees your information. You can set your last seen, profile photo, or status to the following options:
Everyone: Your last seen, profile photo, or status will be available to all WhatsApp users.
My Contacts: Your last seen, profile photo, or status will be available to your contacts from your address book only.
Nobody: Your last seen, profile photo, or status won’t be available to anyone.
2. Read receipts
You can also turn off read receipts. If you turn off read receipts, you won’t send or receive read receipts. However, it can be noted that read receipts are always sent for group chats, even if you turn off the option in your privacy settings.
3. Block or report contacts and messages
You can control who you interact with by blocking specific contacts or reporting messages or contacts on WhatsApp. When you receive a view once photo or video, you can report the account directly from the media viewer.
4. Additional safety resources
WhatsApp Terms of Service: The Terms of Service of WhatsApp outline prohibited activities, which include sharing content (in the status, profile photos, or messages) that’s illegal, obscene, defamatory, threatening, intimidating, harassing, hateful, racially or ethnically offensive, or instigates or encourages conduct that would be illegal, or is otherwise inappropriate or violates the Terms of Service. Such users can be banned.
Be mindful of what you share: Think carefully before you decide to share something with your WhatsApp contacts. Consider whether you would want others to see what you’ve sent. When you share a chat, photo, video, file or voice message with someone else on WhatsApp, they will have a copy of these messages. They will also have the ability to forward or share these messages with others if they choose to.