New WhatsApp feature lets users decide groups they want to join, here’s how it works


WhatsApp group

HIGHLIGHTS

  • WhatsApp is trying hard to combat the spread of fake news or mislead information across its platform.
  • WhatsApp users will now able to have more control over who can add them to a certain group.
  • From now on, group admins will not able to add you to any group until you give permission.

WhatsApp is trying hard to combat the spread of fake news or mislead information across its platform. First, the Facebook-owned messaging platform limited forward message feature to just five users at a time and now the company brings a new feature to WhatsApp groups giving users more control. On Wednesday WhatsApp introduced more controls for groups. With the coming of the new WhatsApp group feature, users will now able to have more control over who can add them to a certain group.

Until now, any and every group admin could add you to a group and if you don’t want to be a part of that group you had to leave it. But now, with the introduction of the new WhatsApp group feature, you can decide on which group you want to get added to. From now on, group admins will not able to add you to any group until you give permission.

Announcing the feature WhatsApp sent out a media release which notes, “WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience. Today, we’re introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups.”

Here’s how the feature works

If a group admin wants to add you to a group he/she first needs to send you a request via private message seeking your permission. It is only when you permit the admin can add you to the group. This means from now on you have full control on whether or not you want to get added to a group. You’ll have three days to accept the invite before it expires. “With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive,” explains WhatsApp.

Follow these steps to enable this group feature

–To enable you’ll first need to go to Settings in the WhatsApp app
–Tap on Account
–Click on Privacy
–Select Groups option
–You’ll see three options there: “Nobody,” “My Contacts,” or “Everyone”
Note: “Nobody” means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and “My Contacts” means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

–To let people take your permission before adding you to a group, you must select “Nobody” option.

WhatsApp has officially announced that the new privacy setting will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks. The feature will come along with the latest version of WhatsApp.

 

Source by


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

More From: Tech

DON'T MISS